Sunday Afterwords: Lenten Prayer of Saint Ephrem the Syrian

Saint Ephrem the Syrian.

Saint Ephrem the Syrian.

During the Lenten season we are called to intensify our life of prayer. I would like to share with you the prayer of Saint Ephrem the Syrian which has been part of my Lenten devotion for 36 years. St Ephrem was proclaimed a Doctor of the Church by Pope Benedict the 15th and his feast day is June 9. This prayer of Saint Ephrem is a vital part of the Eastern Catholic and Orthodox liturgies.

Lenten Prayer of Saint Ephrem

O Lord and Master of my life, take from me the spirit of sloth, despair, lust of power, and idle talk.

But give rather the spirit of chastity, humility, patience, and love to Thy servant.

Yea, O Lord and King, grant me to see my own transgressions, and not to judge my brother, for blessed art Thou, unto ages of ages. Amen.

 

Listen to this evocative and plaintive chant from the soul of a monk who wants to return to his homeland from which he has been exiled due to war and violence.