Church of the Beatitudes

Just a short drive north of Tiberias we visited the Church of the Beatitudes.

The altar is centrally placed.

The golden dome of the church over the octagon. Each of the windows bears a Beatitude.

beatitudes-015556The altar.

The mosaic in front of the altar: “Praise to You, Christ.”


In the octagonal floor mosaic are the four cardinal virtues and the three theological virtues.




The church of the Beatitudes. The church, designed by Barluzzi, completed in 1936, commemorates the beatitudes. The church is an octagonal structure reflecting the eight beatitudes.

Although we we do not know the exact location, it is likely to have been on the northern shore of the sea of Galilee near Capernaum.

The gardens are well maintained and conducive to meditation.

Throughout the garden are the eight beatitudes.

Seeing the crowds, he went up on the mountain, and when he sat down his disciples came to him. And he opened his mouth and taught them, saying:
“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
“Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.
“Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.
“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.
“Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.
“Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.
“Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.
“Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
“Blessed are you when men revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for so men persecuted the prophets who were before you.”
Matthew 5:1-11